In 2011, CalDerm and the AIM at Melanoma Foundation sponsored first-in-the-nation legislation, SB 746 (Lieu), to prohibit minors from using commercial tanning beds. We and our allies successfully moved the bill, committee by committee, house to house, and to Governor Brown's office, where in September it sat awaiting his action.

His signature on SB 746 created the first statewide ban in the nation and marked a huge success for CalDerm and our allies. Most importantly, the new law fundamentally protects health and life; public policy has no better justification – and CalDerm has no better validation in the eyes of patients and state policymakers.

CalDerm’s success is attributed to the dedication of physician members, Drs. Jeff Ashley, Nancy Chen, Roy Grekin, Ann Haas, Alex Miller, Ron Moy, Sima Torabian and Linda Wong.

The American Academy of Dermatology honored California State Senator Ted W. Lieu with its Distinguished Service Award during its 70th Annual Meeting in San Diego on March 16, 2012. The award recognizes non-physicians who have advanced the goals of the Academy through efforts that are beyond the ordinary and added something of distinct and unusual value to the Academy. In the 20 years of its existence, the award previously has been bestowed only eight times.